The Last Viking Returns

Viking Paranoia

Leave a comment

Viking paranoia. It seems suddenly they are following me everywhere I go. I am in the gorgeous old Queen Victoria building in Sydney and the clock up on the top floor strikes 12, and Vikings appear. I can a hardly believe my eyes. In this case it is a diorama about the size of a TV of King Canute with all his followers urging him to hold back the waves while the clock chimes. I wasn’t quite quick enough with my camera to capture this shot. I knew you would want to see it on the blog so this photo was taken one hour later when the clock stuck one, but let me tell you, you can do an awful lot of damage to a credit card in the QV building in just one hour when you have nothing much else to do but wait for a clock to strike.

I am still trying to work out why the clock is there and the connection to a Sydney shopping centre in 2011 and the beach near Winchester, southern England in 1030 ,and why they have a spinning tableau of scenes from  great events in British history. Still, it is quaint in a cute sort of way, and amuses hordes of tourists.

The other thought that concerns me is why was Canute trying to hold back the waves? The accepted reason is that Canute was trying to show his followers he was just a mortal man and not a god, but considering all the news in the papers, could it have been global warming and he actually was trying to hold back rising seas? Yeah right, I hear you cry. Get back to writing fiction and leave the global science to the politicians, the ones who know what the are doing.

Author: normanjorgensen

I'm an Australian writer of books for kids and teenagers. I like traveling and seeing the world, especially through the the lens of my camera. I'm addicted to old movies, red wine and books and decent music.

Leave a Reply

