The Last Viking Returns

How to make Viking costumes for kids (or grown-ups)

1 Comment

viking-dressup-header

I made some kid-size Viking costumes for my talk at the Perth Writers’ Festival. Here’s how.

This is a long post but you can click on the links below to go straight to that section.

NB – some of these elements are inspired by the great ideas at I Am Momma Hear Me Roar and Relentlessly Fun, Deceptively Educational – check them out.

Materials

Here’s the list:

  • plain kitchen apron
  • secondhand belts from an op-shop
  • plastic Viking helmet
  • length of decent fake fur (I bought 1.5m x 250mm – I could have done with a bit more)
  • alternatively you could find a wool mattress protector, or cheap toilet seat covers
  • two small packs of artificial fur (in the colour you want your Viking beard to be)
  • foam swords
  • thick card, A2 size minimum
  • bead thread
  • beads
  • stick-on gems
  • suede leather string
  • costume jewellery bits – oval shapes were used in Viking fashion
  • hot glue gun & spare glue sticks
  • velcro strips
  • thin elastic cord
  • duct tape

viking costume01viking costume02viking costume06viking costume07viking costume08
back to top

Boy’s costume

Let’s start with the beard. I found these packs of artificial fur at the $2 shop.
viking costume05

First I cut out a beard template. (I tried a few shapes until I got one that fit on my face properly.) Pin this to the fur.
TIP: Use a scalpel or stanley trimmer to cut the fur from the back. If you use scissors you will end up cutting the hair fibers and making a bigger mess.
viking costume25

Unfortunately my fur was the wrong shape and I couldn’t cut out the whole beard in one go. So I cut the sideburns separately and sewed them onto the beard. viking costume26

Next I glued hooked velcro squares to the tops of the sideburns.
TIP: use the hot glue gun to attach the velcro strips; even though they come with sticky backing, it isn’t sticky enough.
viking costume27

Then I glued looped velcro squares to the sides of the helmet.
viking costume28

BINGO. Instant Viking face.
viking costume29

Alternative: stitch a length of elastic to the tops of the sideburns. viking costume30

Classy.viking costume31

Now let’s do the shoulder covering. I bought a length of fake fur from Spotlight.
viking costume03

I cut the fur into 5 parts; one long strip to make the shoulder covering, and 4 smaller parts to make the boot toppers.
viking costume44

I wrapped the long piece of fur around my shoulders. I made a few holes in the two connecting corners, then threaded some leather string through. viking costume45

Pair it with a sword, shield and belt and you’ve got yourself a Viking.

In the absence of a child willing to model the costume, here is a picture of me looking ridiculous.
(Scroll down for how to make the sword and shield)

IMG_2324back to top

Girl’s costume

I started with a plain navy-blue apron. I picked it up new at Spotlight but you could probably find them cheaper at an op shop.
viking costume09

I found these oval pieces at Spotlight, part of a ‘steampunk’ line of accessories. I hot-glued some of the fake gems on …
viking costume10

… then glued them onto the top corners of the apron. (Viking ladies used to have brooches here to keep their aprons up).
viking costume13

I picked up some beads designed to look like pieces of shell. I threaded them all together.
viking costume12viking costume16

I found this belt at an op-shop. I cut off the black pleather bits and glued the middle part to the top of the apron.
viking costume15

I glued a few gems on there as well, and tied the beads from one brooch to the other.
viking costume17

Next step: I cut the buckles of these two braided belts I found. I cut them into lengths that would form some decorations down the front of the apron.
viking costume18

I hot-glued these on …
viking costume19

And it’s done.
viking costume20

Without a child to model this, here’s a pic of my gf wearing it:

IMG_2318back to top

Swords

Most $2 shops sell ‘pirate swords’ that look like this. They’re super cheap with a foam blade. Unfortunately, Vikings didn’t have swords in this style. So we need to cut the handle.
viking costume21

It’s foam so it cuts really easily.
viking costume22

Simple. viking costume23

I tried sticking duct tape to hilt of one of the swords. It worked ok but didn’t stick that well; silver electrical tape might have been better.viking costume24

I tried using alfoil on the other sword (the one with the yellow handle in the above photo). The alfoil stayed on for a bit, but it tends to fall off after a while.

I covered up the yellow with bits of the black braided belt to make a more authentic-looking grip.
viking costume47
back to top

Shield

First step – I sketched a circle on some thick A2 or A1 card.
I also sketched a smaller circle in the centre, big enough so that a child could fit their fist in it.
viking costume32

Then I cut it out.
viking costume33

Next step – I cut the centre out of the shield. Then I cut some strips of card, and curved them with some small tabs on the ends. They fit through the centre hole.
viking costume34

I used duct tape to secure them to the back of the shield.
viking costume35

The front of the shield should look like this.
viking costume36

I stuck strips of duct tape to the curved strips to give them a metallic look.
viking costume37

I added an extra two curved strips underneath the first two.
viking costume38

Back view of the shield. That’s a lot of duct tape. I’ve also added a handle.
viking costume39

viking costume40

Lastly I added strips of duct tape to the front of the shield in a cross pattern, as well as strips around the edge.
viking costume41

Then I drew a bunch of small circles with a sharpie; once they’re done they look a little like rivets.
viking costume42

Shield is done!
viking costume43
back to top

Shin warmers

Remember those four extra sections of fake fur I cut earlier?
viking costume44

I glued 3 pairs of velcro strips to opposite ends of each piece. That way they can be wrapped around the shin over the top of your boots.
viking costume46

You can wear them over any shoes but they look best over ugg boots.
IMG_2325
back to top

Author: James Foley

James Foley makes children’s books for children who read books. If you’re a child and you’re eating his books, you’re doing it wrong. His books include the Secret Agent Mole graphic novel series, the S.Tinker Inc graphic novel series, Toffle Towers, and the multi-award winning Stellarphant. James lives in Perth with his wife, 2 kids, and a labrador. He is a massive Marvel movie nerd and comes from a long line of queuing enthusiasts. Follow him on FB/twitter/insta/youtube @jamesfoleybooks, or at www.jamesfoley.com.au .

One thought on “How to make Viking costumes for kids (or grown-ups)

  1. Great ideas, James. Mums all over the state will love this blog close to Book Week when it’s time to make costumes for their kids. They look brilliant and your step by step instructions are easy to follow. Have a great time in Bologna and beyond.

Leave a comment